Site hosted by Build your free website today!
Anchor Home

News Link Obituaries Link Community Calendar Link About Us Link Contact Us Link Subscription Link
Editorials Link




Northwood Anchor
Worth County votes Tuesday
     This Tuesday, Worth County residents will vote to fill a number of federal, state and county elected offices.
     Worth voters will face a choice for two county offices. Democrat Jeffrey L. Creger will challenge incumbent Republican Kenneth J. Abrams for county supervisor from district 3. Republican Jake Hanson will face Independent Jane Bloomingdale in the race for county treasurer.
     Other county offices appearing on ballots with no opposition include Democrat Dennis May for county supervisor for District 1, Republican Liz Kenison for county recorder and Republican Jeffrey H. Greve for county attorney.
     Several township offices will also appear on Worth County ballots, as well as choices for soil and water conservation district commissioners and the agricultural extension council. The retention of judicial positions will also be on ballots.
     One federal office will appear on Worth County ballots. Voters will choose between incumbent Republican Tom Latham and Democrat Selden E. Spencer for U.S. Representative for District 4.
     State offices on the ballot include governor and lieutenant governor, secretary of state, auditor, treasurer, secretary of agriculture, attorney general and State Representative for District 11. Gubernatorial choices include Republican Jim Nussle and running mate Bob Vander Plaats, Democrats Chet Culver and Patty Judge, Libertarian candidates Kevin Litten and Mark Nelson, Iowa Green Party candidates Wendy S. Barth and Richard L. Johnson, and Socialist Workers Party candidates Mary J. Martin and Kevin A. Dwire. Secretary of state candidates include Republican Mary Ann Hanusa and Michael A. Mauro. Secretary of Agriculture candidates include Republican Bill Northey and Democrat Denise O'Brien. Candidates for State Representative for District 11 include Republican Henry V. Rayhons and Democrat Ann Fairchild. Running unopposed for auditor, treasurer and attorney general respectively are Republican David A. Vaudt, Democrat Michael L. Fitzgerald and Democrat Tom Miller.
     The voter registration deadline is this Saturday, October 28. Anyone who has not voted in an election in Worth County within the last four years will need to register. The Worth County Auditor must receive all registration forms no later than 5 p.m. The auditor's office will be open this Saturday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. for voter registration or absentee voting.
     Voters may vote an absentee ballot at the auditor's office until 4 p.m. on Monday, November 6. The deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail is 5 p.m. on Friday, November 3. The auditor's office will be open on Saturday, November 4 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. for absentee voting.
Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. on November 7. Voters in Deer Creek, Grove and Hartland townships and the city of Northwood will vote at the Northwood Fire Department. That is a change from previous elections. All other Worth County polling precincts will be the same as the general election.
     A list of polling places, voter registration and absentee ballot forms and other election information may be found online at

Back to Top

Click on story to enlarge text. Not all Northwood Anchor content available on our website. Please Subscribe to the Northwood Anchor.
Your source for what's happening in Northwood and Worth County

© Copyright 2006 -